Skip to content

A Change of Palette

November 8, 2010

When I first decided to flee LA I was having serious conflicts as an artist. So much of me felt like I was giving up on being an artist. I never found found that deep passion to work in Hollywood and create films. But regardless I still felt like I had the capability, the ideas, and the imagination to create. I just could never find a place that allowed me flourish those things in LA.

Having last drinks with a fellow artist and friend of mine before left I was discussing this dilemma with him. How I felt like I was giving up. How I felt that Hollywood had defeated me. He responded by telling me that if you’re a creative person you will be creative no matter what area you fall in. Whether it’s with words, photography, sound, or paint. That made me feel better.

So here I am now with a new palette. I’m still trying to find ways to stay creative with words and pictures, but I’ve also found a new palette that I can work on perfecting- plants.

I’m currently studying plants at a Horticulture program, and I’m absolutely loving it. I love the fact that I’ll be able to work with nature, and I love that at the end of the day I will be adding more green space into this world as opposed to bad television/entertainment. I’m learning which plants to use for foliage, for flowers, for berries, and which for fragrance. I’m learning what helps plants grow, and which plants grow too quickly. I love that at the end of the day I have valuable information to use in my day to day life as well. I love that I can use my knowledge to propagate plants for my friends, to grown my own garden, and to be able to identify plants on hikes.

A large part of why I wanted to get into the film industry was because I felt like I was carrying a lineage of some sorts. My Father was in the industry, and my Grandfather before him. Educational videos, but the film industry none-the-less. But at my Grandfather’s memorial two years ago I was able to hear stories about his love of plants. He was a naturalist at heart. The son of a pig farmer who later was a professor of husbandry at Penn state. Community members told how he would clear areas of the forest and plant fields blue berries- a gift that still gives today. They told stories how he could walk through the woods and name every single plant. And before he passed away he paid for large landscape renovations around the nursing home, adding nature trails, and a clean pond for other residents to enjoy. So even though I’ve given up on the film industry (for now) I do smile when I think of my Grandfather and his talents, and think that somehow his love of nature has been passed down to me.

It’s strange heading into a new direction after placing a small chunk of my life in the wrong direction. But I feel good on this new journey. I’m happier and more excited about studying this subject. More than I have been in awhile. I’m still figuring out which direction I’m taking it, but I do know that it’s wonderful to begin to be working with a palette that is as diverse, natural, and as beautiful as plants.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

