Skip to content

2 Weeks in Seattle

May 12, 2010
tags:

Well its been about 2 weeks now, and I’m absolutely loving Seattle. I remember visiting Seattle a long time ago when my brother was living in Port Townsend and I instantly had a great vibe about the city. I had always thought of rainy days (and grunge rock) when I thought of Seattle, but on my first visit I couldn’t get over the beauty of the city. There were sculptures everywhere, it was green, and it was perched right on a gorgeous body of water. The weather was beautiful and sunny, and the city just seemed to smile at me. I never would I have guessed that I would end up back here some six years later.

But here I am, and I’m loving it. It’s finally starting to feel like I’m settling in. I’m sleeping in my own bed, I’m cooking with my own kitchen equipment, and I’m slowly starting to fill my apartment with furniture. It’s been a whirlwind. This is my second move in six months, but I feel good about this one. I feel like this could easily be a new home. There are so many things I love about Seattle. I love my neighborhood: Ballard. It’s a beautiful little neighborhood just north of Seattle proper. It’s close enough to culture and happenings of a big city, but has the charm of a smaller neighborhood. It actually reminds me a lot of Los Feliz in Los Angeles, a small neighborhood tucked away within a bigger city. I love my apartment. It has a huge patio with lots of planting room, an underground parking spot, washer/dryer in the unit, and sunny windows. Plus I was able to negotiate with my landlord to take off $100 from the rent and add a sublet clause to the lease (I was happy to see I walked away from LA with some producing skills). The location is amazing. I’m just North from the locks and the Ballard botanical garden, and a few blocks east of the main Ballard strip. I have just about anything I could ever want within walking distance: restaurants, bars, shops, music venues, a movie theatre, a jiu-jitsu gym, a yoga studio (which has acro-yoga, something I’ve been dying to try for awhile now), a climbing gym, parks, and even an amazing beach with a plethora of slack-lining spots. It’s perfect.

I also love the people here. For the most part I’ve met nothing but amazing people. When I first moved here I crashed with a couch surfer. And like most couch surfers I’ve encountered she’s an amazing person. Plus she has an amazing group of friends that have brought me into the fold. I’ve just been impressed with the type of people I’ve met here. I always say that in LA 8 out of 10 people you meet are in the film business. Inherently the film industry is all about moving yourself forward, whether that is through networking, self-promotion, or stepping over other people you’re constantly trying to look out for yourself and us others as a way forward whenever you can. In Seattle people seem much more interesting, they’re doctors, teachers, architects, sustainable living consultants, and nurses. They are people who are trying to make their community better. LA feels like a city of individuals who just happen to live in the same place, Seattle has a much more communal feel which i love.

I’m also loving the nature here. Plants are everywhere, and not in that manicured Los Angeles way. Ivy overruns fences and trees burst from the ground. Lilacs, lavender, and rosemary grow wild without needing to be cared for. It’s like that girl who’s naturally beautiful without even having to try. And there are mountains. Majestic giant mountains that loom in the distance, and plenty of them. On a clear day you can see the Northern Cascades to the east, the Olympic mountains to the west, and that behemoth Rainier (which I plan to climb some day) to the south. I loved Telluride because everywhere you looked there were mountains. Moving to Seattle I had no idea I would be so blessed as well. Another thing I didn’t expect was to fall in love with the clouds. In LA I didn’t have clouds. And when we did they were those fairly boring whispy smears of vapor across a pale blue sky. Here there are tall cottony bulbous clouds, floating in a dark azure sky like little Buddha’s who have eaten too much. It kind of reminds me of the clouds in New Mexico oddly enough. And lastly I love being by the water. I don’t really consider myself a beach person, I’ve always enjoyed the forests and mountains more. But I’m actually really loving being by the water. I love going to Golden Gardens (a park near me) and watching the waves lap on the beach, the sail boats float in the distance, and the waters swirl as the tide moves in and out.

I also love the culture here. I’ve had some amazing food, two art walks, and have drunk (and gotten drunk) at some very interesting bars. I’m excited to continue to explore. I feel like every time I visit one bar my cohorts are always raving about another bar somewhere else. I love how the bars here have games. I feel like there wasn’t enough of that in LA, and after seeing bars in Telluride filled to the brim with darts, foosball, clackers, and pool I’m addicted. I’m also super excited about the music scene here. I have Sasquatch coming up in a few weeks (which I’m ridiculously excited for), and I have a summer filled with shows planned out. The Grand Archives, Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings, Rodrigo y Gabriela, the Avett Brothers, Broken Bells (well, in Portland), and one of my all-time favorites the Kings of Leon. It should be a great summer. Plus I’ve recently discovered  one of my favorite LA shows Lucha Vavoom is coming this weekend. I’m pumped.

Yes, life is good. I realize I’m still in that honeymoon period with Seattle. But I have a feeling we’ll be good friends.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

