Skip to content

An Open Letter to Coachella

April 3, 2010
tags:

Dear Coachella, 

You suck. Now I know that sounded a little harsh, so let me back up a little so you understand where I’m coming from. 

We met about three years ago. I was a music lover new to the Los Angeles area, and you were a well established music festival located three miles east. We hit it off immediately. I loved your lucious manicured grass I could walk barefoot on all day, your conveniently located camp site, and your incredible line-up. I remember the awe I held felt hearing Bjork  and her soul stirring voice. I’ll always be thankful for being able to see the Kings of Leon before they became rock superstars, and for the rare chance to see how incredible a Manu Chao live show can be. Lastly,  I can never thank you enough for introducing me to CSS, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Amy Winehouse, the Arctic Monkeys, among many other wonderful bands. 

Over time we grew apart. After having such an amazing time I wanted to see you again. Sadly work made me miss Portishead, Hot Chip, the Streets, and the National in 2008. In 2009, I won’t lie, your line-up didn’t make me want to drive out to your desert and spend the kind of cash you were asking. It was an ok line-up, but just not worth the money. 

Then this year rolls around, and you announced your line-up. Probably the best I’ve seen from you in a long time. Jay-Z, LCD Sound System, Hot Chip, MGMT, Phoenix, She & Him, Spoon, The Avett Brothers, OCMS, Thom Yorke, and one of my new favorites The xx. At first I thought you were taunting me from afar. Getting such a great line-up the year after I leave LA. Then a month later I discovered that I would have the opportunity to see you again. Me and some close friends would be road tripping in your direction. I was very excited. Then I started looking for tickets…

Yes, getting tickets. That is why you suck Coachella. You’re only selling 3-day tickets? What kind of nonsense is that? I couldn’t understand, I had never heard of such a ridiculous and greedy policy from a music festival. I was certain this was a mistake, but then the FAQ on your website helped me out greatly. 

“Because.” It’s wonderful to see a large scale music festival acting so maturely. I think the people who support you and the music fans deserve a bit more don’t you? Here I’ll help you out:

“Because we want as much money as we can. We don’t really care to make a fun and affordable atmosphere for music lovers, we just want your money. That’s why we will only sell $300 tickets/3 day tickets. That way only the wealthy LA elite, trustifarians, and celebrities can attend. We’re tired of having common riff-raff walk around our polo grounds bare foot. Plus it will make it much easier for scam artists on Craigslist to fool the misinformed and buy fake day tickets. Everyone is happy. Don’t have money? Screw you. Why don’t you attend some little concert at Spaceland or something. Did I mention that I love money? Money money money.” 

Cause that’s what you are saying Coachella. You’re taking  away the ability for music lovers on a budget to enjoy one of the best music festivals of the summer. And to do it the year after the entire country has gone through such terrible financial hardships. For shame. Giving more people the opportunity to  smile and dance a bit would bring some spirits up. But instead you decide to “country club” your event, making it available to only those with a lot of A) free time and B) money to burn.

You make me sick Coachella. Your example is the exact reason why people want to download music for free and not support artists. Woodstock is embarrassed that you are considered part of her off-spring. 

Sincerely,

Blue Sky

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Wes permalink
    April 7, 2010 5:19 am

    You should start a informative campaign, maybe use facebook, to let people know this..

    Isn’t music supposed to be used to bring people of all walks of life together? This seems like a way to only attract well -to-do, unemployed/self employed people. It kills the meaning of the music.

    This is a case where the corporate entity is killing the community…the only way to strike back is to motivate the community to protest.

    • blueskywriter permalink*
      April 8, 2010 1:32 pm

      Thanks for your comments Wes, and I totally agree with you. I remember I could see it happening my first year I went. The first day was a melting pot from all walks of life, and the proceeding days got more and more “LA”. If that’s what Coachella wants to breed. It’s just too bad cause it takes out all of the color out of the festival. That’s why I absolutely LOVE the New Orleans Jazz festival, it has so much character, and it actually feels like a home grown organic festival. Not the corporate megapolis that Coachella has become.

      I like the Facebook idea. If only I had the time…

Leave a Reply

