Skip to content

L.A. Bucket List

October 9, 2009
tags:

Well, the count down is happening. I’m officially leaving LA.No more LA

It’s kind of a scary prospect in many ways. Moving to a new city, making an entirely new social circle, finding a new neighborhood to make mine- basically starting from scratch. But as scary as it may be I’m pretty excited. I’m excited to raze my life here and rise anew like that mythical fire bird. I don’t know how to describe it, but I feel a positive energy building inside me. I’m excited to downsize. I’m excited to explore a new environment. I’m ready for this.

But I’m not looking at my time here in LA as a waste either. I’m a strong believer in trying to learn something from my victories, but even more from my loses. I moved to LA for a career I thought I wanted to be in, following a girl I thought I wanted to be with, and entranced by idea of living in a big city (the first I’ve ever lived in {No, Hartford doesn’t count}). But aside from ultimately being defeated from a city and people that have overwhelmed me I can walk away with my head high, because I did experience many great things. I’ve met many interesting and cool people. I was able to work in an industry many dream of being in. I was able to live in one of the most culturally vibrant cities on the planet. I’ve seen a bunch of good music, eaten an abundance of good food, seen wonderful art exhibits, and discovered many cool dive bars. I’ve rediscovered hobbies and activities, and even added a few to my repertoire. No, I won’t look back on living in LA as a bust. Yet at the same time I know I won’t be looking back at these years through a nostalgic lens. I’m thankful for my time here, my experiences, and my new friends- but I’ve outgrown it and ready to move on.

So with only a few weeks left here in City of Angels I’m now trying to figure out my “L.A. bucket-list”. Things I’ve yet to do here in Los Angeles. If you know of anything I’m missing please feel free to add onto the list. I need ideas.

I’m actually pretty happy with the ammont of things I’ve been able to do/accomplish here in LA. Every time a friend visits I feel pretty proud to be able to show them around to some cool spots, some tasty restaurants, and some neat remote location you won’t find in a travel guide. I’ve even been able to show some locals a secret or two.

Anyways, here is what I have so far:

  • Getty Villa
  • French Dip at Langer’s Deli
  • Lakers Game
  • Eat at Neptune’s in Malibu
  • Watts Tower
  • King’s Game
  • See a concert at the Disney Music Hall
  • Check out Chinatown
  • Historic Downtown walk
  • See a movie at Grauman’s Chinese Theatre
  • Check out the Queen Mary in Long Island

I think I will leave it at that for the time being. I do only have three weeks…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

